Kindred Spirit; Melanie! Introduction

Well, I was waiting for a “perfect” time to introduce myself with the perfect photos to accompany but that could take a while! So, I’m just doing it today!

I love it that this community of lovely women all are inspired by “Anne”! I couldn’t be more thrilled! I first found “Anne” in my early teen years and have never parted from her! I re-read the “Anne” books as well as other L.M. Montgomery books and any biographies I can get ahold of! I read this version earlier this year:

Lucy Maud Montgomery; The Gift of Wings by Mary Henley Rubio.
LM Montgomery; The Gift of Wings
It was amazing to read but also very sad 😦
As I get to know myself more, I realize how important Nature, taking walks, and having Creative Time are all essential to my well-being and happiness.
I’m a Wife and Mom and a “Creative!” Currently, my creativity includes Styling Photoshoots. I’d love to get published in Magazines and one day have a published book; but more importantly, I want to live a peaceful life with no regrets! My family is very important and it is a balancing act to love and serve them but also follow my dreams.
“We pay a price for everything we get or take in this world; and although ambitions are well worth having, they are not to be cheaply won, but exact their dues of work and self denial, anxiety and discouragement.”

L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

“…everybody should have a purpose in life and pursue it faithfully…we must first make sure that it is a worthy purpose…”

L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

I see more “nuggets” of wisdom each time I read “Anne.” and in my current season of life I wrestle with these questions; is my creative dream worthy? and is it worth it? and if not,

Which direction is worthy? I want to encourage women and evoke hope and gratitude in my work. I don’t think I’ll always know -so that is what keeps me seeking -always pushing myself to reveal what is truly important even though I gravitate toward “pretty” pictures and producing “pretty” pictures. This quote comes to mind from the “Little Women” movie:

If you feel your value lies in being merely decorative, I fear that someday you might find yourself believing that’s all that you really are. Time erodes all such beauty, but what it cannot diminish is the wonderful workings of your mind: Your humor, your kindness, and your moral courage. These are the things I cherish so in you. - Marmee, Little Women: Celebrity Movie T V Show, Little Women, Morals Courage, 100 Movie, Google Search, Womenadorávei Mulheres1994, Littlewomen, Women 1994, Periodic Movie

(Love this movie BTW!)

I feel so strongly about the result my creativity has/will have on others. I feel responsible to convey positivity and NOT jealousy or discontent.

Do you ladies think about the results of your work, your creativity? I know I’m a “deep” thinker so no worries if you do not!!

So, this post is a bit random but that’s just how my thoughts are today! Here are a couple recent photos of a one day camping trip with my family on Camano Island. I had the opportunity to make a pretty table with collected seashells and foraged flowers. I’m so thankful for that time and hope to do it more often! Bye for Now, Melanie; Country Cottage Living

IMG_4934closeupcoffeeweb IMG_4953melbreakfast1web

6 thoughts on “Kindred Spirit; Melanie! Introduction

  1. I’m so glad you are on here, Melanie!! 🙂 And lovely post! I really need to read more about L. M – my heroines consist of Beatrix Potter, Susan Branch, Louisa May Alcott, Laura Ingalls – L.M will of course be another heroine of mine, I’m sure. Especially since she created our dear Anne. 🙂

    As far as thinking about my creativity – I’m totally right there with you. I want to inspire people, I want to show people how to create their own little happy corner in their world. I want to bring simpler, happier times to people. My friends (particularly one girlfriend) is my inspiration (for lack of better word). Her life is hard, she doesn’t get to enjoy the innocence and lovely things I strive to work towards in my everyday life – I feel like so many people now are disconnected from that type of life but still yearn for it. I don’t know i any of that made sense, but that’s what I hope to do. My dream (since I was old enough to know what a memoir is) is to write/illustrate my own type of memoir/recipe book…someday…and filled with little snippets of lovely things, happy things, simple things, to help make life basically, a real life fairy tale. 🙂

    Like

    1. I Love your dream! Cheers to “simpler, happier times!” I, too, love all your heroines. I’m getting to the library soon and am going to read your book post about all your fav books (again) and re-read my favorites and try your favorites!

      Like

  2. I’m so happy you joined and posted!!! You are a lovely kindred spirit and it is so wonderful to have you apart 🙂 Wow, such great comments and quotes. Definitely going to add The Gift of Wings to my reading list! Also, I really want go reread the “Anne” books. And deeply thinking…… You are posting in the perfect blog! Yes, this is my constant thinking process, maybe to a fault? I’m so glad you are an author now of this blog!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

