To My Beautiful Kindred Spirits

Well, ladies, it’s been awhile! I don’t want to come back on here and say, “hey we all should force ourselves to make time to write in this blog again,” because I know we all lead different lives and this was created as a space for us to get away from the craziness, not to add to it. I wish I could say I have come here often for a breath of fresh air, but I haven’t. However, I wanted to come back on here to remind myself of the memories we have made and to give you some encouragement. So, I hope this post reminds us all to be okay with not always forcing ourselves to create for the pressure of our check-lists, but to create simply for the joy of it.

I finally reached a point in this slow-but-still-so-busy season of my life to find joy in writing letters again. I was dealing with a lot of emotional pain for various reasons and it was hard to reach out to anyone more than I had to, even to simply just write a sweet “hello” letter. One of my good friends who lives several states away from me got my first letter this year, and boy oh boy did I want to burn it! She is the sort of friend you write your whole life out to and know she will do the same. It was pages long and definitely not my most creative letter, but it needed to be done. It was therapy for me. I have been feeling so much better — writing gives me perspective. Although I write in a journal, writing a letter that would land in safe hands was very much needed.

Thankfully, I am not writing the same letter to you gals! Hahaha I am just writing a page or a few, simply thanking you for the inspiration you all have given me over the years. This week I was able to breathe and actually enjoy writing you girls (I still have a couple more to write). I tried forcing myself to write you months ago but you and I both know sometimes forced creativity just to look like you are being creative is never our best. In fact, it’s horrible. Yes, there are many times we need to push and challenge ourselves! Yet, when we throw out authenticity and vulnerability just to check off the check-list, well…. Well, we really are doing no one a favor, especially ourselves. Sometimes we need to heal, renew, start over, get a new perspective, throw away the junk, and/or be still. It is from here we grow the most and our creativity shines out the clearer.

Processed with VSCO with 10 preset
Watching Melanie’s video while creating some of your ladies’ letters!

Anyway, today, I watched Melanie’s first YouTube video with her friend as I put together some of your letters! Wow, so inspiring and refreshing, but also challenged my thinking. I strive to capture beauty as well as demonstrate it, but sometimes I get carried away with focusing on what others believe is “perfect” beauty instead of what truly is beautiful. I was really encouraged to focus on God’s truth that speaks about who I truly am, including an elevated perspective about the world around me, rather than all the varying opinions thrown at me. Thank you, Melanie, for stepping out and doing something different! Keep up the good work.

It has been so wonderful seeing all of you ladies grow in your creativity. I know we all go through dry spells or frustrating challenges, but, seriously, you all have developed so beautifully in your own way! Sarah, you are an imaginative author and astounding artist that puts smiles on children’s faces! Nikki, you have such a brilliant eye for design and heart-felt art that oozes a love for life! Bekah, you have an impeccable taste for style and your search for loveliness in the every day reflects your rare beauty! Nat, your delightful perspective for vintage treasures and nature shines from your heart to across the world! Melanie, your refreshing and tender contemplative thoughts are truly reflected in your every photo and every word! Lauren, your brilliant fondness for style reminds us that every day is a day to follow our dreams! Jackie, you are truly a creative and it represents the love you have for your family and life! Naoma, your inspiring words and positive perspective constantly produce beauty inside and out!

Processed with VSCO with 10 preset

Once again, thank you kindred spirits for all you do! You truly are treasures from another world.

~ Christiana

One thought on “To My Beautiful Kindred Spirits

  1. Oh my goodness Christiana, what a good writer and encourager you are! I had forgotten about this blog but you have reminded me of the sweetness of meeting such lovely kindred spirits.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

